What Remains after the Bridge is Burned?

I inevitably burned the bridge with my boss during my first job. He was very much against my resignation and was asking if I could stick around until the company’s transition was over. I declined and no word was ever spoken between us again.

More than a year later, the bridge is no longer there, but the people remain. The memory of good times and gratitude remains, but the unnecessary anger brought about by immaturity and ego faded with time. I now see my misguided judgment in the past. I was wrong, but it doesn’t mean that I have to keep it that way:

Dear Sir ABC,

How are you? I hope you’re doing well, and that you’re not too swamped with work just as before.

A year ago, I was very immature in leaving without regard. I deeply apologize for that. I wanted to travel, and I did – for around 6 months, but reality caught up with me. I had to make ends meet. I was forced to go back to Manila and enter the corporate world once again.

Now I’m working for another firm and living on my own. In doing so, I realized a lot of things.

I love ABC Company and I owe a lot to you.

I am so grateful to you for trusting me to deal with important clients, for making me feel that I matter, and that my suggestions matter. Working for a relatively bigger firm, I sometimes feel insignificant. Just recently, I thought of quitting (again,) but I remember regretting my decision to quit ABC Company so I’m trying to stick it out and find ways on how to maximize this opportunity better. I hope it works, haha.

Thanks for everything, Sir ABC! I am truly grateful to your mentorship and guidance. I wish you all the best!

My manager’s reply put an almost permanent smile on my face. Let’s just say, a new bridge with stronger foundation was built. What did I say before? Rejection (or anything else for that matter) is never final. As long as we are willing and decided, we can always do something to try and correct our mistakes.

Merry Christmas and a happy New Year, everyone!

Arlet

Posted on December 24, 2014, in Case Study and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

